Victims of the weather incidents that took place in March in Nebraska may qualify for tax relief from the Internal Revenue Service. Taxpayers who reside or have business or business records in Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington counties may qualify for tax relief.

The federal disaster declaration permits the IRS to postpone certain deadlines for affected taxpayers. Certain tax deadlines falling between March 9, 2019 and July 31, 2019 are granted additional time to file through July 31, 2019.  This includes individual income tax returns and payments normally due on April 15, 2019.  It also includes quarterly estimated tax payments due on April 15 and June 17, 2019.  Many other returns and payments are also included.  If you are a victim of the weather incidents and would like more information on how this postponement affects you, please Contact Us.

For additional detail on the tax relief you can visit this link to IRS.gov –   IRS – tax relief for Nebraska counties.